Theotis (Theo) James

Theotis (Theo) L. James has been a TWU member in Columbus, Ohio since 1985 as a bus driver for the Central Ohio Transit Authority and was Local 208's longest serving president from 2001 to 2009.

His passion has him holding numerous positions in Ohio, such as Vice President of the State of Ohio Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO and Executive Vice President of the Central Ohio Labor Council. He is a member of the A. Philip Randolph Institute and Coalition of Black Trade Unionists (CBTU).

He was the recipient of the George Meany Award in 2008, and received the CBTU B. Marie Clarke Award in 2010 for his contributions to labor and his community.

James has been a TWU International Representative since March 2009.




mortarboard and tassle. Click image to get to Quill Scholarship page

TWU Organizing Toolkit

View the 2016 Auditor's Report